Sun. Jun 23rd, 2024
Iran sco Membership

Iran SCO Membership

Iran formally becomes a member of the Shangai Corporation Organisation, making it the 9th member of the bloc. The decision was taken at the 23rd meeting of the SCO, the Council of Heads of State, presided over by Prime Minister Narendra Modi via video link.

 Before Iran the group had eight member countries: China, Russia, Pakistan, India, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, and Kyrgyzstan.

Shangai Corporation Organisation

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization is an international alliance founded in 2001. Its headquarters is located in Beijing, China.The main goals of the SCO include promoting regional cooperation in various areas such as security, economics, trade, and cultural exchanges.

It aims to enhance stability and maintain peace in the region by addressing common security challenges, combating terrorism, separatism, and extremism, and fostering economic development and cooperation among its member states.


Don’t Miss




One thought on “Iran SCO Membership”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *